Starting the Journey

Standard

Throughout the journey of writing a novel, I have to overcome many challenges, but none more difficult than starting the journey.

Each time I set out on the daunting adventure of writing a novel (or any art project), my mind fills with doubt – a doubt so powerful that I teeter on the edge of debilitating fear, risking the abandonment of the whole journey. It takes a tremendous amount of strength (and a lot of encouragement from supporters) to shelf the destructive feelings and start writing. For me, the hardest moment in the journey of writing a novel is to overcome the initial doubt. While doubt in other forms is prevalent throughout the adventure of writing a novel, once I start the journey, my determination takes over.

While probably not true, though I work hard to believe it, my determination is indestructible. If I start something, I will finish it. It’s in my DNA (thank you, Parents). Throughout the process of writing a novel, I cling to this “fact.” It helps me get through the many challenges I will have to overcome on the journey.

Because once I start something quitting isn’t an option, I have to make smart choices of the projects I take on. To do a project well, it requires a lot of time, creativity, patience, thought, and energy. Any of these skills spread thin risks poor output. And quality is paramount.

It’s time to put my full attention back into my manuscript. As difficult as it is to do, the many other art projects brewing in my mind will have to be patient. I have a novel to write.

Leave a comment